Current Clubs & Organizations

Organization descriptions and sponsors

Clubs at W.T. Woodson

For more information including meeting times and location please contact the club sponsor. A calendar of meeting dates will be posted on Cav Kiosk.

Academic Bowl (Deaf & Hard of Hearing)

American Sign Language (ASL) Club

Aspiring Entrepreneurs 

Astronomy Club

Black Student Union

Chess Club

Chinese Student Association

College Partnership Program

Color Guard

Computer Science Club

Creative Writing Club

Debate/Forensics/Speech

DECA

Doctors of Tomorrow

Dungeons & Dragons Club

Engineering Club

Environmental Club

E-Sports Interest Club (Not VHSL)

Family, Career, & Community Leaders of America (FCCLA)

Film Club

For the Culture Club

French Club

Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)

German Club

GirlUp

GSA

Habitat for Humanity

Hip Hop Club

Hispanic/Latinx Student Association

Hockey Interest Club

Improv Club/Theater Sports

IT Girls

It's Academic (Scholastic Bowl)

Japanese Culture Club

Key Club

Kosher Food Club

Korean Student Association

Literary Magazine

Math Team (JV)

Math Team (Varsity)

Model Judiciary

Model United Nations

Music Appreciation Club

Muslim Student Association

One-Act Play Festivals (VHSL)

Operation Patriot

Operation Smile

Pals and Community Connections (PACC)

Red Cross Club

Relay for Life

Research in Science & Engineering (RISE)

Robotics/Cyber Security Club

Science Olympiad

South Asian Student Association 

Spanish Club

Stock Market Club

Students for Life Club

Table Tennis Club

Technology Student Association (TSA)

TED-ED

UNICEF Club

Vietnamese Culture Club

Woodson Ambassadors

Woodson's Animal Advocacy Group (WAAG)

Woodson Buddies

Woodson Christian Fellowship 

Woodson-Frost Math Partnership

Woodson Minds Matter

Young Democrats

Young Hearts

Honor Societies

Computer Science Honor Society

Sponsor: Kimberly Baram

Sponsor Contact: kabaram@fcps.edu

Criteria: Completed AP Computer Science A with A- or higher & 2.7 overall GPA

French Honor Society

Sponsor: Kathleen Binczewski

Sponsor Contact: kbinczewski@fcps.edu

Criteria: French III or higher with B+ average 

History Honor Society

Sponsor: Mike Glander

Sponsor Contact: MWGlander@fcps.edu

Criteria: 3.5 GPA in Social Studies course and a 3.0 overall GPA

International Thespian Society

Sponsor: Christopher Rushing

Sponsor Contact: csrushing@fcps.edu

Criteria: Overall 3.0 GPA, 10 points earned in Woodson productions in 2 different production areas

Latin Honor Society

Sponsor: Brendan Muse

Sponsor Contact: bcmuse@fcps.edu

Criteria: Contact Sponsor

Math Honor Society (Mu Alpha Theta)

Sponsor: Valerie Silver

Sponsor Contact: vmsilver@fcps.edu

Criteria: Students must have a 3.5 math GPA, at least 3.0 overall GPA, taken & passed an honors level math course, 3 teacher recommendations, and be able to solve/explain a complicated math problem

National Art Honor Society

Sponsors: Leslie O'Shaughnessy & Deirdre Forgione

Sponsor Contact: LBOShaughnes@fcps.edu & DMForgione@fcps.edu

Criteria: Student must have take 2 full-year art courses at Woodson, and have at least a 3.0 GPA in those classes

National English Honor Society

Sponsor: Drew Marvin

Sponsor Contact: dlmarvin@fcps.edu

Criteria: Contact Sponsor

National Honor Society

Sponsors: Andy Austin & Eileen Oviatt 

Sponsor Contact: alaustin@fcps.edu emoviatt@fcps.edu 

Criteria: 10th, 11th, & 12th graders with a minimum of 3.5 of good character, involved in community service, & demonstrate leadership. Members must maintain at least a 3.5 GPA, complete 20 hours of community service, hold leadership positions in school organizations and teams, while demonstrating good character. 

Applications Available: Fall

Science National Honor Society

Sponsor: Johnathan Morgan

Sponsor Contact: jhmorgan@fcps.edu

Criteria: Must be in or have taken an AP science course, a 3.5 GPA in science, and an over 3.0 GPA

Spanish National Honor Society 

Sponsor: Kathy Marcos

Sponsor Contact: kmmarcos@fcps.edu

Criteria: Must have been in a Spanish class for a minimum of 9 quarters and have a B+ average

Tri-M Music Honor Society

Sponsors: Lonnie Bickel & Charles Quinlan

Sponsors Contact: ltbickel@fcps.edu cpquinlan@fcps.edu

 Criteria: 10th-12th grade enrolled in a year-old music class, 3.0 GPA in all music classes and an overall 3.0 GP

Inactive Clubs

If you would like to restart any club that has been previously approved simply ask a teacher to be a sponsor & let Ms. Pollack know. No additional paperwork or application required!