Clubs and Honor Societies

Organization descriptions and sponsors

Clubs at W.T. Woodson

For more information including meeting times and location please contact the club sponsor.

American Red Cross

ANIME Club

Art & Digital Club

Astronomy Club

Athletic Training Club

Best Buddies

Black Student Association 

Chess Club

Chinese Student Association

College Partnership Program

Color Guard

Computer Science Club

Deaf Academic Bowl

Debate/Forensics/Speech

DECA

Doctors of Tomorrow

Dungeons & Dragons Club

Engineering Club

Environmental Club

E-Sports Interest Club

For the Culture Club

French Club

Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)

Global Finance Club

GSA

H.E.L.P. Service Club

Hockey Interest Club

Improv Club/Theater Sports

IT Girls

It's Academic (Scholastic Bowl)

Jewish Student Union

Key Club

K-Pop Interest Club

Literary Magazine

Math Team (JV)

Math Team (Varsity)

Model Judiciary

Model UN

Muslim Student Association

One-Act Play Festivals

Operation Patriot

Operation Smile

Photography Club

Relay for Life

Research in Science & Engineering (RISE)

Robotics/Cyber Security Club

Science Olympiad

Spanish Club

Stock Market Club

Student Advisor Program

Students Against Drunk Driving (SADD)

Students for Life

Technology Student Association (TSA)

Trading Cards Game (Magic the Gathering)

UNICEF Club

Woodson's Animal Advocacy Group (WAAG)

Woodson Christian Fellowship 

Woodson Crew Team

Woodson-Frost Math Partnership

Woodson Minds Matter

Young Democrats

Young Hearts

Young Republicans

 

Honor Societies

Computer Science Honor Society

Sponsor: Kimberly Baram

Sponsor Contact: Kabaram@fcps.edu 

Criteria: Completed AP Computer Science A with A- or higher & 2.7 overall GPA

French Honor Society

Sponsor: Kathleen Binczewski

Sponsor Contact: KBinczewski@fcps.edu

Criteria: French III or higher with B+ average 

History Honor Society

Sponsor: Joan Brown

Sponsor Contact: JCBrown1@fcps.edu

Criteria: 3.5 GPA in Social Studies course and a 3.0 overall GPA

International Thespian Society

Sponsor: Terri Hobson

Sponsor Contact: TJHobson@fcps.edu

Criteria: Overall 3.0 GPA, 10 points accured in Woodson productions in 2 different production areas

Latin Honor Society

Sponsor: Ariel Baska

Sponsor Contact: ASBaska@fcps.edu

Criteria: Contact Sponsor

Math Honor Society (Mu Alpha Theta)

Sponsor: Valerie Silver

Sponsor Contact: VMSilver@fcps.edu

Criteria: Students must have a 3.5 math GPA, at least 3.0 overall GPA, taken & passed an honors level math course, 3 teacher recommendations, and be able to solve/explain a complicated math problem

National Art Honor Society

Sponsors: Jayne Matricardi-Burke & Joseph Dixon

Sponsor Contact: JFMatricardi@fcps.edu & JWDixon@fcps.edu

Criteria: Student must have take 2 full-year art courses at Woodson, and have at least a 3.0 GPA in those classes

National English Honor Society

Sponsor: Beth Koby

Sponsor Contact: EWKoby@fcps.edu

Criteria: Contact Sponsor

National Honor Society

Sponsors: Sara Dragan & Kara Sweeney

Sponsor Contact: SRDragan@fcps.edu & KMSweeney1@fcps.edu

Criteria: Juniors & Seniors with a minimum of 3.5 of good character, involved in community service, & demonstrate leadership. Members must maintain at least a 3.5 GPA, complete 20 hours of community service, hol leadership positions in school organizations and teams, while continueing to demonstrate good character. 

Applications Available: Fall

Science National Honor Society

Sponsor: Johnathan Morgan

Sponsor Contact: JHMorgan1@fcps.edu

Criteria: Must be in or have taken an AP science course, a 3.25 GPA in science, and an over 3.0 GPA

Spanish National Honor Society 

Sponsor: Kathy Marcos

Sponsor Contact: KMMarcos@fcps.edu

Criteria: Must have been in a Spanish class for a minimum of 9 quaters and have a B+ average

Tri-M Music Honor Society

Sponsors: Amy Moir & Bao Vo

Sponsors Contact: ALMoir@fcps.edu & BVo1@fcps.edu

 Criteria: 10th-12th grade enrolled in a year old music class, 3.0 GPA in all music classes and an overall 3.0 GP

Inactive Clubs

If you would like to restart any of the clubs listed below. Ask a teacher to be a sponsor & let Ms. Pollack know

American Sign Language Club                                        Animation & Video Club

Automotive Interest Club                                                  Cued Speech Club

Deaf Culture Club                                                            Fellowship of Christian Athletes

Feminist Club                                                                   Film Makers Club

Gardening Club                                                                Go & Other Board Games Club

Guitar Club                                                                       Habitat for Humanity

History Club                                                                      Japanese Culture Club

Korean Club                                                                      Latin Club

Mentors                                                                             Music Appreciation Club

Poetry Club                                                                      Substance Abuse Prevention Club

TED Ed                                                                            Vietnamese Culture Club

Woodson Ambassadors